Why this title? What’s this about?

This blog was originally designed to be titled “The Lithium Diary’s”.  Then it was going to be “Things I Have In Common With a Super Villain”.  (thank goodness I didn’t go with that….)

The reason I chose not to go in that direction was simple, but profound to me.  To me it’s about defining myself.  That’s what this journey to “better-ness” is going to be about.

I’m not just Bipolar Disorder/Manic Depression
I’m not just a guy on medication
I’m not just Adult ADHD
I’m not just a fan of comic books
I’m not just a person with hydrocephalus
I’m not just a husband
I’m not just a passionate sports fan

No one thing defines me as a person.  I’m all of those things, and a ton more.  We are ALL many many things.  I didn’t want the title of my blog to handcuff me into posting about one thing.  So yes, there will be lots of talk about Bi-polar Disorder, and ADHD, and books I like, and sports and (gasp) comic books!

But that’s not all.  This blog is to be about my journey from very unhealthy (mentally) to very healthy.  It’s a day-to-day process.  My therapist wants me to “own” my good and bad traits, and “own” the disorder that I refuse to allow to define me.

That’s what this is, too – it’s me taking ownership.  Of my mind, of my health, and of my depression.  It’s not going to go away.  Neither will I.

One thought on “Why this title? What’s this about?

Leave a Reply

