Some thoughts while I wait on a job interview

Hello! I got to a job interview really early, and some thoughts had been forming over the last few weeks.

One thing people all want to do, on some level, is fit in. This happens especially for children.  We all see this as we grow up, or watch our own kids: the painfully awkward kid who desperately wants to fit in, to be accepted.  Sometimes that kid gets picked on, bullied, and made to feel more outcast.  Sometimes, they actually manage to fit in.

But when they’ve “fit in” have they lost something of their own individuality? Was conformity a good idea? For kids and teens, the answer is easier. Usually, they’re going to say yes. But what about adults? As we attempt to “get ahead” and focus on making money, are we losing ourselves? Are we focusing on the wrong things?

Sometimes I feel like I’m 12. I love comic books and airplanes taking off and fire engines.  Two of my favorite things to eat are cheeseburgers and macaroni and cheese (Velveeta, thanks).

For a long while I buried a lot of that. It wasn’t “adult enough” for who I thought I was supposed to be. Screw that. I’ve been learning differently recently. Its always good to be yourself. If others can’t deal, so be it. I’m sure if they can’t deal with the real you, you don’t want them around. I know that’s true for me.

So if you see that kid trying hard to fit in, or if you are the kid trying to fit in – don’t sell yourself short. Be yourself. In the long run, it feels better than it does to fake it.
Hello! I got to a job interview really early, and some thoughts had been forming over the last few weeks.

One thing people all want to do, on some level, is fit in. This happens especially for children.  We all see this as we grow up, or watch our own kids: the painfully awkward kid who desperately wants to fit in, to be accepted.  Sometimes that kid gets picked on, bullied, and made to feel more outcast.  Sometimes, they actually manage to fit in.

But when they’ve “fit in” have they lost something of their own individuality? Was conformity a good idea? For kids and teens, the answer is easier. Usually, they’re going to say yes. But what about adults? As we attempt to “get ahead” and focus on making money, are we losing ourselves? Are we focusing on the wrong things?

Sometimes I feel like I’m 12. I love comic books and airplanes taking off and fire engines.  Two of my favorite things to eat are cheeseburgers and macaroni and cheese (Velveeta, thanks).

For a long while I buried a lot of that. It wasn’t “adult enough” for who I thought I was supposed to be. Screw that. I’ve been learning differently recently. Its always good to be yourself. If others can’t deal, so be it. I’m sure if they can’t deal with the real you, you don’t want them around. I know that’s true for me.

So if you see that kid trying hard to fit in, or if you are the kid trying to fit in – don’t sell yourself short. Be yourself. In the long run, it feels better than it does to fake it.

Trust me.

Leave a Reply

